Something to slip into

As I am trying to find somewhere to print, I am keen to present my book in a slip case. I’d prefer if the slip case was a reinforced card not a rigid slip box. I had the idea to also use my slip case as a poster to demonstrate something more personal.

My dissertation focuses a lot on the use of clichés in industry standard campaigns and examples, so I had the idea to use my own back log of work to create a poster to in some ways campaign the originality of ME! Like displayed in my book, I thought the use of a cliché would be a novel way to tie in the book and the content so I started searching for an appropriate line. I think in design, many people are often blinded by the visuals and stereotypically of the piece rather the originality, so a cliché which worked well with this concept was…

Remove those rose-tinted glasses [An optimistic perception of something; a positive opinion; seeing something in a positive way, often thinking of it as better than it actually is] I think this is what happens with design in some cases. I wanted to promote the risk of taking something new and allowing the viewer to be challenged in uncovering the meaning and connotations behind the originality.


I think this example of a photographic poster is so simple but it gets the point across and allows each photo to shine. I like the use of the grid and I think using my work, this sort of structure could work. I might tweak some of the alignments so it gives a more contemporary feel.

Typography wise, I will consider using the same typefaces as those used in the book so it alludes consistency.

 

Leave a comment